Craftsman Four Stroke Weed Whacker

Status
Not open for further replies.
Working on a four stroke, Craftsman Weed Whacker and I can't figure out what's wrong. The primer bulb has three outlets on it first of all and it actually squirts fuel into the bore to prime. I can get the machine to idle all day long, but it won't take any gas and rev higher. There aren't any adjustment screws on it or I would try that. Any ideas? It's a real engineering masterpiece. NOT!

I am not an expert on those little engines on trimmers etc, but if there are no adjustments, I would bet you are either going to have to disassemble the carb, clean, and replace the diaphragms, or replace the carb. Even though I am one to say fix don't replace, when it comes to those tiny diaphragm carbs, if it isn't to expensive, and you are not an expert on them, I say replace.

Second the fuel filter advice... I had the exact same issue with my small Honda 4 stroke and it was a clogged filter in the tank.

Last edited:
Easy fix on those.

1) Remove the gas cap
2) Throw the entire unit in the trash
3) Slide a new Echo/Husky/Stihl underneath the gas cap

FIXED!!

Check that the gas cap is venting, fuel filter is good, fuel lines aren't cracked, carb bolts are tight, spray a little brake clean around and check for any intake leaks.... besides that, pull the card and give it a good cleaning.

I love my Stihl 4-mix trimmer and blower.

Originally Posted By: yeehaw1960
Working on a four stroke, Craftsman Weed Whacker and I can't figure out what's wrong. The primer bulb has three outlets on it first of all and it actually squirts fuel into the bore to prime. I can get the machine to idle all day long, but it won't take any gas and rev higher. There aren't any adjustment screws on it or I would try that. Any ideas? It's a real engineering masterpiece. NOT!

I have one of those.
Expensive.
Since day one it has been a total POS.
Never use it.
Go back to two stroke.