Cyclists

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: gman2304
Sydney?

It is a pretty big city in Australia. They have a nice Cricket Grounds and are close to Mount Panorama.

There's a guy on here that received a ticket from a police officer while riding that he's currently fighting. Saw a recent video of a bike camera where an Ohio Trooper is giving the biker a hard time which is pretty entertaining. Plus he has a bunch of other videos confronting other drivers that pass too close:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3SFMIEN59I

Interesting. My guess is that it will reduce the number of cyclists, pure and simple.

Ultimately, if there is an issue with cyclists, then laws get made--that is the same for anything. When a problem is found, find a fix.

I do question the need for for a bell. I get the idea, but as the commentator pointed out, most people won't know what to do if they heard a bell.

I've been using a bell for almost 40 years. Only 20% of the pedestrians respond properly.

For a short time, there was a requirement to have a bell on your bicycle on A1A in South Florida. They've since taken the signs down, installed a bike path, and put up signs that require motorists keep at least 4 feet away from cyclists.

I spent some time in Sydney and I can't imagine riding a bike, at least in the city. The traffic is nuts and the roads are tight. Foot traffic is pretty intense too. Navigating a bike wouldn't be easy and maybe they really are just trying to improve safety or at least make it difficult for irresponsible riders to to ride.

IN this state you can get a ticket for speeding on a pedal bike. The speed limit law applies to "motor and other vehicles"

A bell is so useless. Half the time, a person turns right into your path.

Saying "on your left" or "on your right" is also useless. People invariably turn right into you.

I've found it best to say nothing and just just maneuver around a stable person.

Originally Posted By: DoubleWasp