Picking a low cost floor jack

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using the same leaking HD floor jack for years and finally getting ready to replace it. Currently looking at the 3 Ton Professional Grade Aluminum And Steel Service Jack from Costco (Item #996603) vs. 3 ton Low Profile Steel Heavy Duty Floor Jack with Rapid Pump® (pn 61282) from Harbor Freight. The HF jack has a slightly higher max lift height than any other jack in this price range and with my pickup truck that is VERY attractive... but so is the fact that if/when the Costco jack develops problems I can just return it...

Thoughts? Budget is a huge factor here. Like I said, I've been using the same leaking floor jack for many years with fine success. Not like it ever is the main or only support for the vehicle while working anyways.

I wish I would have bought a low profile jack instead of the standard one. I'm not that impressed with my craftsman 3 ton floor jack, maybe it's because it doesn't get used much, but it leaks down. Then again I guess it is 10 years old.

Originally Posted By: buck91
I've been using the same leaking HD floor jack for years and finally getting ready to replace it. Currently looking at the 3 Ton Professional Grade Aluminum And Steel Service Jack from Costco (Item #996603) vs. 3 ton Low Profile Steel Heavy Duty Floor Jack with Rapid Pump® (pn 61282) from Harbor Freight. The HF jack has a slightly higher max lift height than any other jack in this price range and with my pickup truck that is VERY attractive... but so is the fact that if/when the Costco jack develops problems I can just return it...

Thoughts? Budget is a huge factor here. Like I said, I've been using the same leaking floor jack for many years with fine success. Not like it ever is the main or only support for the vehicle while working anyways.

Have you tried bleeding the air out? Pump it up all the way as high as it goes, then lower it all the way and repeat about 5 times. See if that stops it.