Observations on Workplace corrosion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just thought I'd post some recent observations of corrosion in my current workplace..I'm a welder by trade and have worked in shipbuilding,ship repair,rig repair and small fabrication workshops.,not an expert by any means but in my current job I've kept an interesting eye on the corrosion taking place around my work.I work in a leisure centre which has wave pools,flumes(water slides) and general pools for casual swimming etc..it's a 3 year old site with stainless steel fittings,structural steel supports(beams,large diameter pipework supports,you name it..very similar to what you will see in most buildings, factories etc) The corrosion taking place with certain components are what I'd describe as extremely rapid compared to what I've witnessed in my previous profession,this is purely down to what can only be the high chlorine content in the air,combined with high humidity temperatures and a generally wet environment...various components /fittings are for corroding at differing speeds ,some not at all and hopefully this thread will be of interest to anyone who is interested in diy rust prevention...what I've noticed is as follows..

Stainless steel nuts and bolts( not immersed in water) rusted badly..to the stage that they would be classed as defective

Mild steel stairwells (painted) showing signs of bubbling..with areas of handrails showing excessive corrosion and heavy separation and flaking that would take at least a decade in what I'd call "normal conditions"

Stainless steel panels and fixtures and fittings -excessive surface rust and heavy pitting(belief was a sub standard grade of stainless was used or not treated right at start of construction)

Galvanised large diameter threaded bar used to hold beams and pipework -no corrosion and no sign of reaction to the environment

Galvanised threaded bar which has been cut on site and treated with etch primer- no corrosion