How do you avoid being perceived as a rookie when

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've always been a visual learner. I'll watch what someone does and try it myself, but i'll also try and find my own way to see what works best for me. I tend to ask many questions because I'm always naturally curious and love to learn new things, but what I've noticed when I ask lots of questions people just assume I'm a rookie or just don't know any better. How do you avoid this? Just don't ask questions? lol

Everyone has to be the rookie at some point, don't sweat it. As you put in more time and experience it'll pass. What do you do?

It flatters the guy you're asking as long as you look like you absorb some of it.

Originally Posted By: eljefino
It flatters the guy you're asking as long as you look like you absorb some of it.

Not a rookie answer. Good job!

As a visual learner myself, I would have to say, it depends how you pose the question.

It's hard to explain, but the perception is, there are intelligent questions, and there are dumb questions.

I'm a boss and would be very disappointed if one of my workers didn't ask about something they are not experienced or clear on. They could be killed if they tried to learn by themselves. Unless you are asking questions that you should know or are very bad questions I think your bosses or whomever they are need to smarten up! my coworker, the office boss sometimes says "google it" and that drives me crazy. Half my day is training and helping and every time I do I feel great that I could assist or further the knowledge of my team.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman