Removing fungus/lichen/mold from paint

Status
Not open for further replies.
No shoot sherlock - my 2.5 year old white WRX has this very hard crusty matter of organic nature growing under the top lip of the rear hatch. VERY difficult to remove, soap brush, etc doesn't touch it. Power washing? No. It has a death grip on the paint. Ideas?

on almost every surface on the planet just needs a bleach and soap solution and a pressure washer but one of the few things I haven't put bleach on is a car. When I washed for a living I washed tons of organic material of things just not vehicles.

Use an acid based alloy wheel cleaner. Wheels are painted the same as car finish, that is a base coat and a clear coat.

Just make sure to follow the direction on how long to leave it on the paint. I would start out no longer than 30 seconds.

I'm guessing you have already tried clay.

Last edited:
I have used Soft Scrub with bleach several times on my white trucks with no ill effect. Wet the surface before use. Scrub and rinse immediately.

Isopropyl alcohol!

Melamine foam!

Case forming lube! (Coconut oil, liquid lanolin and Isopropyl alcohol)

Various swabs and brushes and microfiber towels.

Finished with thorough rinse and good wax.

Just took a lot of time and elbow grease.

Sorry lousy cell before pictures. Need to take some after pictures.

Oh man, I need to change my standards. Without the pictures I was imagining end of the world zombie organic 1 inch thick nastiness of goo that might cure cancer or police relations. To most people there's no problem.

Originally Posted By: razel
Oh man, I need to change my standards. Without the pictures I was imagining end of the world zombie organic 1 inch thick nastiness of goo that might cure cancer or police relations. To most people there's no problem.