Walnut Grips Really Make A Difference !

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Blaze
I had some Ruger factory wood grips on my Ruger 45 colt but gosh those things HURT with heavy loads. I now have packmeyers back on which were the factory original that came with them. I love the looks in the gun safe with the factory Ruger wood grips but they just are not functional for the shooting I do.

I think this has more to do with design than material in many cases.

Originally Posted By: Blaze
I had some Ruger factory wood grips on my Ruger 45 colt but gosh those things HURT with heavy loads. I now have packmeyers back on which were the factory original that came with them. I love the looks in the gun safe with the factory Ruger wood grips but they just are not functional for the shooting I do.

I have to concede that I put Pachmayrs on my Blackhawk in 45 Colt also after I started playing in the "Ruger only" section of the book. It makes the gun tolerable with the type of loads that you get there. I agree that the standard wood grips are punishing. When shooting normal 45 Colt, though, I put the smooth wood factory grips back on. All of my single action revolvers, including my Uberti SAA clone, have these same sort of grips and they fit in with the "let it roll" mantra that I like to preach with normal 45 Colt loads(which give lower recoil impulse). "Ruger Only" loads, though, are too much to just "let it roll."