Fork oil vs shock fluid? How do they differ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I see that shock fluids are generally lower viscosity than fork oils, and that shock fluids often have higher viscosity indices. That's all I know. Are they designed/built particularly differently in terms of how they achieve the radically different viscosity indices? What about in terms of anti-wear properties, friction modifiers/reducers, and so on?

How about this: For a 'street bike,' have you experienced a noticeable difference in fork feel based upon whether you used a low-VI fork oil vs. a high-VI shock oil in your forks?

I don't know much about viscosity indices, but from 6 years of racing motocross, I know shock oil is designed to withstand higher temps and pressures than what forks generate. You need to have the correct oil to make modern cartridge forks perform correctly.

I'm no expert on shocks, but I do know the fluids pretty well. Here's what I at least think are the facts.

Rear shocks generally have a bigger temperature swing going up around 150F at times. Forks usually stay below 100F in mild ambient temperatures. So rear shock oils need a higher VI to avoid excessive fade as they heat up. Because of the relatively excessive heat, the rear shock fluid needs to have high oxidative stability to prolong fluid life.

There is more contact area and higher side loads on forks then on a rear shock so anti-wear and frictional properties are a bigger priority in fork oils then shock oil. A high VI certainly doesn't hurt but it isn't at critical as it is in a shock oil.

Anti-foam is crucial for both fluids since foam destroys the damping ability of the fluid.

I'm sure there are other things, but that is all I can think of at the moment. There is an article up on my site about it that goes more in depth on the subject if you want to look into it.

Peterverdone is also a really good source for explanations of suspension tech.

Thanks to both of you!