choice between reciprocating corded saws

Status
Not open for further replies.
lowes locally, $79 dewalt, assembled in US but made in mexico I think
makita from amazon, $89 with free shipping, made in china but with Japanese oversight (odd that japanese companies can get good quality out of the Chinese and some US companies can not.

which to buy?

Last edited:
Your probably splitting hairs thinking one is better than the other. I'd get the Dewalt as it's a tad cheaper, made in north America and its at a brick & mortar. I'm a semi mechanic at UPS, we don't need anymore business, but brick & mortars do.

Which one has more/better features like easy tool less blade change, orbital action, easy to grip, length of cord, nice case, multi speed range and variable speed trigger, blade clamp that allows blade to be inserted either way, OA length. Go to a store and handle them both then decide...but either will give you good service.

I've had my Makita for over a decade. It's always done what I've asked it to do.

I also own some Dewalt products and I've never had any trouble from them.

Personally, I don't think you can go wrong with either.

Dewalt you can have tonight, the parts are screwed together in the USA, and it's yellow. What other choice is there?

I'm not sure the mikwaukee ones are us made any more, so I'd consider going dewalt. A lot of makita stuff is made in the USA. This isn't. I think I'd pass.

I have a DeWalt and a Makita. The DeWalt has tool-less blade changes. The Makita replaces one that died after being used for demo work. I have also had a Milwaukee. It ran a long time, but died too.

If I was to go out and do it right now, I'd just get another DeWalt. I'd spend the money on good bi-metal blades in a wide assortment of tooth counts and lengths... That's where the work gets done
laugh.gif

Originally Posted By: another Todd