2011 honda civic 1.8? need info

Status
Not open for further replies.
So my Daughter who is in NC. right now just bought one of these. She will be moving back here to San Diego in a few months. I will be taking care of this car upon her return. Anything I should know about this car? I have zero knowledge about Hondas. Anything I should be watching out for? Thanks in advance!

just fluids..Honda trans, Honda coolant, favorite oil and good filters..I'd go heavier on the oil in the mild climate.

or 5/40..ran 5/20 200k in my new '03 K-24 and she slipped a tooth, otherwise still super strong.. mechanic blamed the oil and I believe him.

Honda factory fill coolant is supposed to lasted 10-12 years 100k-120k miles whichever is first.

You can get Honda concentrate coolant from Pep Boys, it is easier to get 50-50 if you flush the old coolant with distilled water.

ATF probably safest to use is Honda DW1.

Last edited:
As others have said change out all the fluids. Use all Honda fluids except oil, just use what you like in the proper spec which I believe is 0w20. I use PP 0w20 in my K24 with a Fram Ultra filter, great combo!

0w20, 5w20 & 5w30 in our 2012 with over 100k and runs like a top. I have done four drain and fills with ML ATF and zero issues. DW1 is pricy compared to $16 a gallon for ML ATF at WM. Prestone all makes coolant is what I use and again, no issues. I do coolant drain and fills every year just for a peace of mind.

Originally Posted By: Blkstanger
I have heard of some people going 5w30 in these.

And the nominees for BITOG Most Profound Statement Of The Year are....

A 2011 is the last year of this generation Civic and as a result is a solid car. All the bugs were worked out by 2011. Just keep up with the preventive maintenance and fix things as they break. That car should treat her well.

Last edited:
2010Civic, Thank You, That's the kind of info that I was looking forward to.