Thinking of changing from a laptop to a Ipad

Status
Not open for further replies.
My son recommended this one,
ref...YWAEY&psc=1

The thing is, do I want an Ipad, or is there a lower cost alternative?

I have no experience with pads/tablets.

Love to hear recommended devices, and other folks experiences.

TIA

Step 1: What do you do with your laptop that you will still want to do on an iPad?

Internet device only? Sure, grab an iPad (i would suggest a full size, not a mini) and go to town. There are many options on the market between Android and iOS. There are pluses and minuses to both and it really just boils down to preference. From a don't want to screw with it and just use it, I'd go for an iPad.

My Qualifications:
Current devices: Nexus 6, iPad Air 2, Samsung Note 10.1

Former Devices: HTC Droid Incredible 2, Samsung Note 2, Toshiba Thrive, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4S

What I'm trying to say is, I'm not biased to an OS.

What is your goal with an ipad or new laptop? What do you use them for? If it's just cruising around the web and streaming, they're great! If you need to "work" on them, such as photo editing (high end), complex graphic layouts, consider the ipad pro. If you want a "pro level" editing tablet consider the cheaper Microsoft Surface 4 over the ipad pro if you're not married to the iOS ecosystem.

I went to an iPad mini after having a desktop for years. But I have a work laptop which I tended to use for anything needing "power". Today we have a family computer (which I rarely use) and I bought a used laptop for $25 (which again I rarely use). Those larger devices work better for surfing the web and doing "computer" work. Which I try to avoid when home.