Mower Decision: Toro Super Recycler vs Honda HRX

Status
Not open for further replies.
My search for a new mower has naturally settled on these two great choices.

Toro 20382 - Super Recycler with Honda engine and Personal Pace rear wheel drive
Honda HRX217HZA - Nexite deck, electric start, hydrostatic trans, blade stop, twin blades, etc.

Frankly, they seem pretty similar to me, except that the Honda basically has it all. Toro doesn't seem to offer an equivalent model, and instead gives you different options in the Super Recycler line (one model with the Honda engine, one model with blade stop, one model with electric start). The price difference makes up for the lack of the extra features on the Toro, though.

I have a hybrid Bermuda lawn that, in the past, hasn't taken well to mulching. For some reason it grows so densely that the clippings have a tough time settling in and I end up with rotting grass mounds after a good rain. So, I've been bagging my grass for a few years now. My current mower is a FWD craftsman with a B&S engine that runs fine but doesn't give me as clean a cut as I'd like.

The lower price of the Toro is attractive, but the drive system seems rather primitive and I've heard that the personal pace system doesn't quite like it when you have to reverse (like around bushes and tight spaces). It also seems that the wheels ride on bushings which I'm not a fan of.

The Honda is sort of a no questions model, but at a rather steep price point. The complaints I hear are that it's heavy and that it can also have issues reversing if the drive gears get dirty. I'm curious if the hydrostatic drive is easy to service since it seems to be an expensive problem when it breaks?

I guess it comes down to money. Is the Honda worth the extra $250? I'm big on maintenance so I see no reason why this mower won't last me at least 15-20 years.