radiator hose install, 08 Matrix.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Had some "fun" yesterday installing 2 radiator hoses in my wife's 08 Matrix.

Factory hoses were very soft, and we are getting into the hot weather down here, so it was time to replace.

Purchased goodyear upper and lower hoses. Seems like a simple job, I'm no mechanic but it looked simple.

Purchased a cable operated hose clamp pliars. Well worth buying, job would have been impossible for me without them.

Got both hoses off without much incident, however spring loaded OEM clamps could not be reused. Could not get the clamps to slide over the neck of the radiator for anything!

Used some rubber safe lube, everything.

Ended up using standard worm type clamps for all the connections. Read many stories about how people crack the necks of the plastic radiator by over torquing the clamp. I was very careful and did not over torque the clamps, and made sure they were straight before tightening them down carefully.

Refilled with Valvoline coolant for Asian Vehicles (as recommended on here). Works great no leaks.

I also bought two new heater hoses but I was too darn tired of looking at the car, so they will wait for another weekend.

Sometimes the spring clamps leak after reinstall anyway - I put on traditional clamps every time.

I've found that sometimes the aftermarket hoses are thicker than the OEM hoses. The OEM spring clamps won't work on the new hoses. There are aftermarket spring clamps available. I used some on my Cruze with good results.

That's a problem with some aftermarket hoses, they are too thick. Worm drive are the worst ting you can use, in cold weather they leak and the raised part inside puts stress on the joint in one place if you tighten them.
Use constant tension worm clamps if you cant use the spring clamps, they have no riser inside. Gates hoses are pretty true to size and the OE clamps usually fit fine.
Gates also make a heat shrink clamp that works well.