Why are some experienced people so conceited?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Greggy_D
Originally Posted By: Vern_in_IL
HAVAC techs are the worst.

Actually I had a fantastic one last fall when my blower motor went out. This guy took the time to explain everything, asked if I had any questions, and adjusted the airflow in my duct work without me asking. The system has never blown better throughout the house.

I think we are getting off track here... dealing with a customer is a different situation than dealing with a co-worker/apprentice.

I think a lot of people that train new employees forget they were once in those same shoes.

I've been training new employees for about seven years and you have to have patience. You have to expect their going to ask the same question multiple times.

I enjoy teaching people what I've learned.

I tried never to be abusive to anyone at work, be it a fellow tech, a service writer, or an excessively chatty parts guy who doesn't understand what working on commission means.

For many it doesn't sink in that techs are paid (generally) on the amount of hours they turn. I would love to help out a newb with a difficult diagnosis, or maybe show him a shortcut that will help on a future job. Come winter time when I am playing cards or dominos between jobs, OK then. Just don't screw with me when I am busy. Not unusual to slide an experienced tech a few hours for an assist on a PITA that has someone stumped.

As far as new techs- we can usually figure out after a month or so who will make it and who won't. You either have the ability to diagnose, and fix, problems quickly, or you starve. Seen FoMoCo "ASSET" trained younglings come into the shop, last six months, and go into another profession. Conversely I have had a helper off the street work with me for nine months, get his ASEs, get some schooling from Ford, and do very well.

Old techs just get cranky I guess. Comes with the job.