Help fix engine rattle under load | Tbird 69 429ci

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm a 69 Tbird 429cui driver from Germany. Ford 385 engines (and Big Blocks in general) are rare over here, so it's hard to find qualified help.
My engine rattles pretty loud under load. Moreover it flares a lot of (probably bluish) smoke from the exhaust, when quickly pushing the pedal all the way down. And for example when the street is wet and I'm idling at a fixed position, I can see residues/thin film of gas on the street right under the exhaust tips.

I hope these information help to isolate the problem and fix it. If you need more information, please let me know.
It's a completely stock 429cui ThunderJet engine with the Autolite carb.

I need step-by-step advice on what to check or do first, because after being able to do almost anything at the body I'm just beginning to learn more about engine stuff (although most basics aren't completely new to me).

Thanks and best regards!

Do a wet and dry compression test. first do a check on the crankcase ventilation.

+1 compression check will tell you something about general engine health.

While you're at that check each spark plug for COLOR. They should all look similar TAN color (google it). If you have one or two off color note the cylinder it is. overall dark/Black may be oil burning from ring problems or valve guide/seal which would explain the smoke.

If it rattles under load only I would think immediately spark knock from low octane gas or too much ignition timing/advance.

If the spark plugs are very white/clean this would indicate lean fuel mix spark knock. Check the breaker points and ignition timing also is correct.

Last edited: