Depression And Mental Illness.......

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering if anyone else suffers from mental illness. I've struggled with a alcohol problem for 20 years. I sobered up a few months ago and find myself extremely depressed. I'm on medication and see a Dr. but it only helps somewhat.

Originally Posted By: qwerty1234
I was wondering if anyone else suffers from mental illness.

No not me!!
crackmeup2.gif

I still have depression but my puppy and family keep me from killing myself
laugh.gif

I do lots of night shift, so I have little to no social life.

One of the things that helps me the most is going to the gym and do some weights.

As a pharmacist I can tell you that you are in good company. I actually work for a psych hospital right now and what I see is very somber and depressing. Six months ago we had a patient who some how climbed onto the roof during his supervised break and jumped to his death. All I can say to you is don't ever feel ashamed to fail and better yet don't feel ashamed to cry out for help. You'd be surprised as to how many dont seek help or are ashamed to check themselves into a psych hospital because everyone calls it the "looney bin". It truly is the silent disease because no one wants or likes to talk about it.

Originally Posted By: Stewie
laugh.gif

I do lots of night shift, so I have little to no social life.

One of the things that helps me the most is going to the gym and do some weights.

Quoted for truth.

I still think of backing out of this move I made, to be with Snowball. My cats are the cutest thing.

And +1 on weights and exercise.. add in good DIET too, less/minimal sugar.

I was wondering if anyone else suffers from mental illness. I've struggled with a alcohol problem for 20 years. I sobered up a few months ago and find myself extremely depressed. I'm on medication and see a Dr. but it only helps somewhat.