2007 Corolla brake caliper digging into rotor??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, its regarding my brakes. So I have some jobber rotors and Akebono pads on for past year to year and a half. The past month or two I noticed that when brakingI heard a grinding sound from driver side. I took off the wheel and noticed that it appears the top edge of the caliper is pressing against the rotor making an indentation around the rotor which shows its rubbing against the rotor during braking. The brake pads do not look worn down either, actually look 3/4. I removed bolts and took the caliper off..it looked fine to me granted I am no mechanic. I am maybe a weekend mechanic for my own vehicles..id consider myself to have basic knowledge..I checked the other side and the rotor is not grinding at all and same brake pad wear, so Im wondering if it might be the caliper? Any and all advice welcome, if anything I can easily test or check for would be ideal. If it is a bad caliper I will likely have the dealer or an indy replace it for me. Thanks in advance
smile.gif

We need pics but is one ear of the pad sticking in its bracket? Very common.

Originally Posted By: eljefino
We need pics but is one ear of the pad sticking in its bracket? Very common.

You think one of the pad ears is sticking? Sorry not sure what you mean..i suppose I will need to take the pads off and check..might do that tomorrow..bit of a blizzard out now. Thanks for the hint.!

Maybe one frozen slide pin?

The more talk to brake guys the more I understand how much one must lube specific parts or hsmgs and squeaks occur. At the begging of my automotive journey I'd have never imagined lubing pins and tabs and etc.

Originally Posted By: KingCake
bad wheel bearing

Had both my front bearings replaced about 1-2 years ago..and maybe 15-20k miles since so im dounting it but who knows..thx

Pin on the back of the pad not correctly aligned with the rotor. Causing pad to wear unevenly, I've seen it before