Castrol POWER1 Racing 4T or Valvoline SynPower 4T?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

Season is starting soon so I am thinking about buying an engine oil. My bike is Honda CBR 600 F4i 2001. I've been using Castrol Power 1 Racing 4T 10W-40 for the last 3 years and so far so good.

I can see that I can also buy Valvoline SynPower 4T 10W-40 (made in Netherlands) which is slightly more expensive than Castrol (40 cents difference per liter).

Is it worth it? Specs are the following:

1. Castrol POWER 1 Racing 4T 10W-40

API SL
JASO MA2

2. Valvoline SynPower 4T 10W-40

API SG
JASO MA

P.S. Since my bike does not have a cat I would lean towards buying an oil with a lot of ZDDP, however I can't find any info on Power 1 Racing or Valvoline 4T.

P.S.2 No Shell Rotella T6 is sold in my country.

Last edited:
You asked the same question a month ago and got 3 pages of answers then..

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/3586189/Oil_for_Honda_CBR_600_F4i:_JAS

Yes, I agree that it is not nice to ask the same question or simular often. However the question you pointed in the link is about API and JASO certifications.

The question I post in this thread is about a choice between two specific oils ...

Sometimes I need to discuss something several times to make sure I get the most answers possible!

Personally I would stick with the Castrol. I will give two reasons and then duck - since I am sure that others will disagree:

My motorcycle mechanic friend (years of experience with modern race bikes and also vintage bikes) always recommends Castrol for bikes. I also feel that Castrol produces a better product (more additives) than Valvoline.

tomcat27,

Originally Posted By: tomcat27
Personally I would stick with the Castrol.

Thanks for your feedback. In fact I find it quite interesting that people on this forum (mostly from USA) prefer Castrol (EU), Mobil, Pennzoil (bought by Shell, EU) and quite rarely - Valvoline ...

LoneRanger,