Tell me about AMC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Jarlaxle
Originally Posted By: Miller88
I believe there were a few AMC Matadors on Adam-12 and the Dukes of Hazzard!

The CHP used them, also...and Bobby Allison and Mark Donahue ran them in NASCAR.

The LAPD and the LASD used quite a number of them but CHP used Dodge extensively:

http://vintagechpcars.com/list.htm

Originally Posted By: dishdude
Old Mustang Guy said:
In 1975 I was a rookie police officer on the Dallas P.D. We got AMC Matador squad cars that year. Worst cars ever. We got Pontiac Le Mans in 76. Much better.

Daddy, the top came off!

protectedimage.php

Buford-T.-Justice-and-Junior.png
[/qu "shut up, one s*#@ at a time." "soon as I get home, I'm gonna punch you moma in the mouth"

Last edited by a moderator:
I can remember a Nash or AMC vehicle having the water pump mounted on the side of the engine and driven by a shaft off of the generator. This set up always seemed to have gushers coming from the water pump. ANyone remember this?

I'm a copcar guy so...

Info not on Wikipedia:

LAPD bought over 500 Matadors in 1971/72. Biggest fleet. FBI also seemed to have liked them, too but probably just based on low bid price.

CHP bought less than 10 of the Eagles; no one can pin down the exact number.
Only one known to exist and it belongs to a guy that comes to our copcar show every year.

Alabama Dept of Public Safety/State Troopers bought ~130 1972/1973 Javelins.

One of the two FBI agents killed at Wounded Knee drove a '72 AMC Ambassador. It was a high trim Brougham model. Probably to "blend in" more.

You should be able to find pics of these cars on the net.

I always thought the '63 - '69 or so AMC/Rambler cars were nice looking especially the Javelin and AMX.

AMC stories...