NEWBIES FIRST QUESTION--BEST OIL FOR USE WITH ALKY

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Gang
Newbie here to this forum--don't want to search all day--want to know what is good oil to run with alky in sbc drag motor--I know that many Love the Brad Penn--I am not paying $6 qt for anything unless it is from an oak barrel in KY
I have been using Kendal GT1 20wx50 / Conoco I guess with very good results--can get that stuff at local distributor for about $37/case 12 qts so I am happy with that but wondered

Is it decent oil?
Is there something better?
Not interested in thin oil HP gains I gots Plenty o HP!

I have a great tune up and do not "milk" oil -- I am not going to drain and boil oil--
Have been draining at the end of each race day --oil looks lighter but no big dilution going on etc looks pretty darn good just a little lighter color--

Been using the NAPA/WIX race filter because it has a strong can Is that good enough? Am I missing something way better?

Please chime in if you have experience in this arena
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited:
I would stick to what your doing if you don't want to open your wallet for a botique oil sounds like it's working now.

How much money do you have wrapped up in your engine? Your getting a deal to obtain a case of 12 quarts for $37. But in reality, good luck finding something better for $6.00 a quart. I very much like that Kendall uses titanium in many of it's oils and Kendall 20W50 has higher zinc and phosphorus content appropriate for older engines, modified or not.

I run roller cam so that makes big diff just wanted to know that the Kendal was not junk
I am happy as can be so far---all my fellow racers love the Brad Penn and it seems to provide fantastic protection and alky does not bother it at all but with the volume of oil we go through I just am not spending that kind of loot--we race exhibition only anyway so ..I have a 60's era front engine dragster