Let's See Your Handgun Shooting Groups

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to 1911s, and actually haven't done much measuring of group sizes in my shooting, in the past, but, with the accuracy potential of this Heritage that I bought last week, I'm getting interested in seeing just how tight I can get my groups with it.

I really don't know what kind of accuracy can be expected from it, so I thought I'd post up and see if you guys who like to shoot for groups would like to post up some of your results.

I've fired about 410 rounds through the Heritage, so far, over the last 3 days (no malfunctions), cleaning and lubing it before shooting for the first time, and cleaning approximately every 100 rounds and re-lubricating liberally.

The ammunition I've fired has been the following: Federal Aluminum-case 230-gr. FMJ, Remington Brass-case 185-gr. FMJ, Perfecta Brass-case 230-gr. FMJ, Blazer Brass-case 230-gr. FMJ, Federal Brass-case 230-gr. FMJ, Federal American Eagle Brass-case 230-gr. FMJ, Hornady Critical Duty 220-gr. JHP, Winchester Ranger 230-gr. JHP, Triton 230-gr. +P JHP.

Here are some photos of groups I've gotten:

Standing, off-hand, 33 feet:

From 50 feet, resting gun on ammo box:

So, after looking at the targets, a couple of initial conclusions can be drawn:

1. I was most consistent in my off-hand shooting with the Federal Aluminum-case 230-gr. FMJ, with most spreads 1.5" or smaller, with the smallest being .75". The Remington came in 2nd, with most all groups being ~ 1.5". The others tended to be a toss-up. I think it's obvious that the Perfecta was the most inconsistent. I'd say, using the Federal Aluminum or Remington, my average groups from ~ 30 ft. are about 1.5" at this point.

2. It was pretty cool to see how much the rested groups from 50 feet shrunk when I switched from the Federal Brass-case 230-gr. FMJ to the Hornady Critical Duty 220-gr. JHP.