Mountain Bike under 1000 bucks budget?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like all professional bikers are on this page. I'm planning to buy myself one, so yes I don't have a bike yet, but maybe someone here can recommend the best Mountain bike that would be in a $1000 budget.

Do you think the Diamondback is a good choice? How about the SE Bikes big Mountain? I found both of these online. Well, like many others, I just rely on some review sites online when it comes to buying something ( Bicycle Advisor website for example). But I know it will be better to ask the experts here.

What should be considered in selecting a bike? What are the best brands? Sorry for the stupid questions. Newbie here.

Thanks!

Last edited:
You should be considering your riding style. Are you going to ride off road or on road/pavement?

Some good brands are Trek, Giant, Specialized, Scott, and Cannondale.

I am not a mountain biker, but I know it is impossible to get a carbon frame bike (new) under $1000. So pick one of those brands and try to get the best fork/drivetrain you can afford.

I used a road bike for 10 years on regular road way exercising (1,000-1,500 mi per yr). It worked well and didn't need the lightweight carbon or anything. It was a basic $450 bike that held up. Then I went to a UniVega mountain bike in the same price range as my brother gave it to me for free. It's a metal frame with rugged welds. No reason it shouldn't hold up on some rougher terrain. But I only it use it on the roads and don't like it one bit after a year. From the extra noisy wide tires, increased resistance, and the snap-quick steering, it's a pain. Can't get used to the lower reach on the very wide handle and how quickly you can lose control due to the wider bar. I'd consider all of this when purchasing how you plan you use your bike. I'm going back to a road bike as soon as I run into a nearly brand new used one that fits my budget.