Once Bitten Twice Shy Using MOS2 Additives....

Status
Not open for further replies.
So whats the history of the car?
Are you the original owner?
Are there any mods if yes how long have they been on the car?

By reading S2000 forums there were cars less than 2 years old stock loosing bottom bearings, the solution was to go with larger clearances.
Most engine builders are using the max clearance .002".

If you rebuilt with stock clearances I would seriously rethink that and redo the bearings with more clearance, but that's just me.

With having problems with the bottom end bearings I would give more clearance.
Acl race bearings at .002 clearance is what the builders said I read this morning.
This is just a Google opinion I have no experience with this engine.

I cant see the Moly causing this. Just my opinion.

Shannow is a bearing engineer maybe ask him if he has seen or heard any Moly related failures.

Thanks for all of the replies. I started using Lubro Moly MOS2 based on some of the threads on this forum a couple years back.

I am definitely not going to use any more additives on this vehicle, I appreciate all of the replies and opinions. I'll stick with Redline and get my moly fix that way. I can't definitively say the MOS2 caused my issues, but without knowing for sure I won't chance it again.

I am not the original owner of this vehicle. The engine could have been run low on oil in the past, that is a common issue as these motors consume oil and there is a dipstick reading issue that some people don't realize. I want to blame the oil pump but having checked it over upon removal it still measured to spec.

All four bearing mains were damaged, I think 2 and 3 were the worst (thinnest), I sent the motor to my buddy in Tennessee who opened it up for me and gave me the bad news about the damage.

The current block has been refreshed to Honda specs using new Honda bearings and related parts. Recent UOA's seem to show normal wear levels.