What oil do you run in your "Built" motors?

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you are an actual motor person. One who either specs custom built engines, or builds your own for a performance application and then drives and maintains that application; what oil do you run and why?

I build moderately old school American V-8's for fun cars, mostly on the street. I've been doing this on and off for about 5 decades. I break in those engines on Chevron Supreme 10W-40. I change oil & filter at 100 miles and again at 500. Then I run yearly OCI's as most of these cars and trucks do not get 7,500 a year.

I have used Delo400 as my go-to oil for decades for general use and that includes a type of engine I build that I call a drooler. That is it has extra internal oiling points and runs a HV pump with the lowest pressure spring I can install so that it max's at ~50 psi.

When I was young and did not know better, I swore oil pressure was important so I wasted power driving high pressure systems and the associated wear on distributor gears and broken oil pump drives. At some point the light went on and I quit doing that ...

So my oils are Chevron Supreme and Delo400. I am adding Valvoline MaxLife as a third oil...

So how bout you'all ???

In the SBF's I've done (basically all 302's) M1 0w-40, though I did dabble with Delvac 1 5w-40 for a bit.

I haven't done a ton of them, and only a couple of them have been mine, the others have been builds for friends or with friends but the oil has always performed extremely well on tear-down in terms of lack of wear and internal cleanliness.

These are all roller motors too BTW. I've helped with a few flat tappet SBC's with a buddy of mine, but never owned one. For those we ran Esso XD-3 15w-40.

I haven't built anything since F.I. came on.

All were Holden 6's and an 8. Owned many many of them, some stock, some rebuilt, or modded by others.

They share the same lifters as SBCs, obviously flat tappets.