Math Question for Statisticians or Economists

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: dareo
Thank you for the clarification. My friend's teacher told him that all statistics above 100% are all wrong. College teachers get it wrong or at least teach it in unclear ways all the time.

I could say that generally the term of 100% is quite overused. Look at the college and pro-athletes and coaches that consistently preach about giving 110% or 120%. That's technically not possible if they are performing at their human body limits of 100%. And I doubt there's a person on earth who has yet to reach the 100% level in either physical or intellectual capacities. So I do chuckle every time I see quotes like that. Maybe that's what the teacher is alluding to. In areas of growth, how else can you represent the increase other than to post numbers of >100%? But, as a coach, I'd be ecstatic to have player performing at 98-99% of their capabilities.

$10 is bigger than $1. How do you represent that as a %? You can take the "retail" way out and call it a 90% gain. If 10 isn't 900% larger than 1, or 1000% of 1, what is it? Pose that to the teacher. Ask them about irrational and imaginary numbers as well. 2.718281828459045... Can these exist if you can't put a precise # on them?

Thank you for the clarification. My friend's teacher told him that all statistics above 100% are all wrong. College teachers get it wrong or at least teach it in unclear ways all the time.

It's 350% likely that a statistics student misunderstood their statistics teacher and is quoting them wrong. (joke above)

In trying to parse out what he could've possibly meant, I bet your friend has conflated the terms "probability" and "statistics" together.

Where it's true that a probability over 100% are wrong.
The chances of rain tomorrow cannot be over 100%

Although a comparative probability statement like "350% more likely to rain" could make sense.