Shell Helix 3 20W50 API SJ/CF

Status
Not open for further replies.
I might try the Valvoline VR1 out , but it is pretty expensive but it seems everyone is using it , i can also buya Spanish brand called Cepsa which is also a 20w50 Mineral SL Rated oil , this should be good enough too right? i'm a bit new to the API Ratings excuse me
smile.gif

Instead of chasing after an API, any 20W50 of A3/B3/B4 should be more than adequate for the Capri IMO.
blush.gif

For now i will keep using HX3 i've driven more than 500 Km with it now and it's great stuff , but i will definetly try VR1 out since it seems to be " all the rage " in the Classic Euro Ford scene .

You can find out a bit more info on the CEPSA 20W50 here if you download the PDF data sheets...

http://www.cepsa.com/cepsa/Products_and_...psa_Lubricants/

One of things I noticed is that the 20W50 blurb refers to 'low phosphorus content' which translates to less ZDDP. Also the 20W50 is only A3/B3 (the 15W40 & 10W40 are both A3/B4) and it also has a lower TBN. If I were to hazard a guess, I'd say they're using the same additive pack in all three oils just at different treat rates, with the 20W50 containing the least amount.

I'm not saying the CEPSA oil isn't suitable. It could well be that it is. However if you're after lots of ZDDP for flat tappet protection, the CEPSA oil is going in the wrong direction.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: FordCapriDriver
Thank you all for your replies , i think the Mercury Capri didn't sell well in the US because you bever got any of the cool performance versions in Europe we got Turbocharged 2.8 and 3.0 L Capris with over 200 Hp and in South Africa they even put a 250 Hp 302 in it.....

Yes, just as the 2 door hatch 'Sierra' we got was the Merkur XR4Ti (also sold through Lincoln-Mercury dealers) with an anemic, de-tuned from Mustang SVO trim, SOHC turbo 4 pot, instead of the fire breathing, Cossie BDT RS/RS500 you, and the Brits were offered.
frown.gif