Question regarding statement about 5w30/10w30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, i was browsing information regarding 5w30 vs 10w30 since i have been burning 5w30 ever since i put it in my 2004 silverado, where as 10w30 NEVER burned a drop even with extended OCI's (on conventional or otherwise)

that being said, a member here posted:
Quote:

Originally Posted By: Merkava_4
10W-30 is so slow at flowing, it takes a full 5 minutes to reach all the bearings on startup. But 5W-30 only takes 2/100ths of a second to reach all the bearings. With 10W-30, you're gonna find a lot of metal shavings at the bottom of the oil pan.

Is this true? does 5w30 actually take 1/50th of a second to reach all the bearings while 10w30 takes 5 minutes?

Maybe you should have let it go and seen if anyone fell for it twice LOL

I have some ocean front lots I am willing to sell you outside of Denton. There is a difference below 0*f

Gotta love those variable speed oil pumps and oil pump drives with slipper clutches
laugh.gif

Yeah, uh huh ... I don't think so...

The difference in cold viscosity is minimal and could even almost overlap between brands. Some are thinner 10W and some are thicker 5W. But whatever the differences between selected brands are for your motor, the pump will get it there at about the same time.

Short of a busted pump drive, there can be no reason for a delay of one second between these two "weights". Maybe a few seconds between 0W and 40W straight weights at near freezing ...

Folks have been running 10W-XX for decades w/o any of this happening. You are either spoofing us, or your radar is not the greatest for spotting crazy statements ...

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: TexasTea
Hi guys, i was browsing information regarding 5w30 vs 10w30 since i have been burning 5w30 ever since i put it in my 2004 silverado, where as 10w30 NEVER burned a drop even with extended OCI's (on conventional or otherwise)

that being said, a member here posted:
Quote: