Toilet paper oil filter

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm no oil expert, but have experimented with extra filtration all my life. I get many more hours/miles out of machinery than is common. I ran these Franz TP filters in the 60s and 70s on cars, pu trucks and small marine diesels. I also used one on a 2000 Jeep. The paper doesn't come apart. Flow is down the core and up thru the paper. Paper fits tight in the outside container. The return side has a screen and I never had paper come apart. In automotive gas engines, the oil would stay transparent. When it started to cloud you changed the paper. The cheapest paper worked the best. 10 rolls for a dollar stuff. Diesel needed more changes and got dark soon. I changed oil in gas engines at 50,000 miles. Cut open stock filter and they would be like new. On Detroit marine engines I changed the oil at 2-500 hours. Big marine diesels used a centrifuge.
When smog requirements changed the engines, more soot was made. I assume it was the dished pistons. Paper may have changed. The oil no longer stayed transparent but still made a good oil test. With a paper change the oil would become semi transparent but soot up in about 5000 miles. I had a Chevy 3/4t, 4x4, truck I used for towing with one TP filter on both the engine and trans. 350,000 hard miles on it when I sold it. Had the trans serviced before the sale and was told it looked like new, internal filter was clean. Engine had a valve job about 150,000.
Since then I went to other larger bypass filters. As probably been discussed here, the slower oil goes thru a filter, the more dirt can be captured. Something that seems to help cars, look up a longer stock filter of the same size or go to a remote filter of a larger size.
I live on a 83' boat with Detroit naturals. Engines had above 20,000 hours before cylinders & pistons were changed. I run at 1800 rpm. Now I use a large centrifuge.

Hey everyone.