Non-detergent oil in small engines

My buddy's dad restores antique cars and tractors for a living. I stopped over there the other day and he was rebuilding an old 23D Briggs and Stratton. Somehow we got talking about oil...

He said that it is important to run a non-detergent oil in a splash lubricated engine, because all of the metal particles settle to the bottom. If the engine is pressure lubed and has a filter, then using a detergent oil is okay because the particles are suspended in the oil and filtered out.

I've been working on small engines for around 10 years now, and have always used detergent oil. First Pennzoil and more recently Rotella. Any thoughts on this? I don't really see detergent oil causing more wear in a splash lubed engine, but it got me thinking.

Detergent oils work better other wise todays ope wouldn't last as long as they do.

Modern detergents are much stouter that old SA rated non detergent oils.Many additives the old oil never had.Go with the modern stuff,preferrably the previous "S" rating,as the latest has less ZDDP for the mechanical cam.

Originally Posted By: MolaKule
No engine should be run on ND oils.

ND oils have NO anti-wear, NO rust preventers, or any other protection additives.

ummm oil by its very nature is a rust preventative.

Please read the label on the ND oil. I got a quart for my air compressor, and found it wasn't right for that use either. It says not to use it in engines made after 1940. Put the oil in your oil can and just use it to wipe off your tools.

Originally Posted By: jeepman3071
...it is important to run a non-detergent oil in a splash lubricated engine, because all of the metal particles settle to the bottom.

I remember that advice from years ago, but can you even buy this stuff today? And if so, why would you want to? If I recall correctly, that stuff was for pistons without rings.

Last edited: