Allergic reactions to lead, copper, and brass?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are there any known/common skin allergies to copper, brass, lead, etc... stuff associated with firing rifle bullets outdoors and possibly cleaning the rifles?

I work with cars on an almost daily basis and never have any weird skin reactions to car stuff (anti-freeze, brake fluid, engine oil, gear oil, ATF, brake dust, etc...) and I'm an electrical engineer by trade so I'm in contact with solder, copper wiring, etc...

But I've started to develop some weird skin rashes. I've tried to pinpoint what exactly causes it, and it's either food that I've eaten on a regular basis for 20+ years... or its something new that was recently introduced (my rifle collection).

Don't know about rifles, but my wife and oldest daughter are allergic to many types of metals used in earings except 14c gold. Yes those metals can cause reactions. And sometimes a change in laundry detergent can cause a reaction for some people. When I went through my retirement physical I was given Iodine for a test and went back to work and when I got home my wife told me I was having an allergic reaction and had to go back to the emergency room for treatment.

[ December 17, 2004, 10:06 AM: Message edited by: oldman ]

It might help us if you were to tell us where you get those rashes, and what type of rash. Red, dry, flakey skin, or raised bumps, possibly fluid-filled blisters, or pustules?

If your gun is nickel-plated, it might be a source for your problem, as nickel allergies are common. Even steel contains nickel. I can't wear steel watches or watchbands for that reason.

I have a friend who developed a rash on her hands. She tried to figure out what she had changed to cause this rash (hand soap, dish soap, etc...). Finally, she determind that it was a new brand of toilet paper. When she told me this, my immediate question was "And you only hand a rash on your hands?!?"