5.7L LT1: Napa Silver 31036 vs. AC Delco PF52

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please read in its entirety before responding.

I have a '96 Buick Roadmaster with the LT1 engine. The odometer reads 59k and I drive it about 1-2k miles a year and no more than 3k. Unfortunately she stays parked on the street in an urban environment that includes and lot of traffic and buses passing by, therefore, a lot of dirt and debris in the air. It's a hot and humid setting year around. I give her a car wash once every 2 weeks and a wax every other car wash. I change out her oil and filter once a year. This time she will be getting PUP. Before one says "why PUP if you don't put up much mileage and change it out once a year?"- it's because it came out to the same price as ST synthetic after rebate.

With that being said I want to treat her right without 'overkilling' it meaning- putting on a Napa Platinum every year when it doesn't need one. I want the best filter for the application without overpaying for something that isn't even needed. I understand I can put on a Platinum or Fram Ultra and change it out once every 2 or 3 years but it doesn't feel right doing that. I feel like that's taking a shower and then putting on the same dirty underwear as before. Call me old school but I like a new filter every OCI. I am open to opinions though.

That being said, I feel that the Napa Silver 31036 and AC Delco PF52 are the best filters for my situation. Does anyone have any opinions as to which one is better than the other and why? I am also open to other filter recommendations preferably under $6 but do not say fram EG or TG, or Purolator Classics. I will not take those into consideration. Thanks in advance.

Edit: I forgot to mention I'm talking about the original PF52. Not the PF52e. E-core's are terrible.

Last edited: