60/40 Atifreeze/Water Ratio too strong or OK

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all

This is concerning a Motorhome with a Chevy 454 which is in the repair shop for Blown Head Gaskets and almost ready to roll.

I have been hearing that too strong Antifreeze mixture can potentially gel up or circulate slower along with reduced heat transfer setting up a recipe for overheating
and a Blown head gasket all over again. The Last thing I need after a 1700 dollar bill for Head Gaskets and water pump.

A 50/50 textbook mix is good to -34 F. The Repair Shop has it at - 50 F Freeze protection or approx. 60/40.

Any thoughts and opinions?

Absolutely OK!

I've been doing it here in Minnesota for MANY years.

Originally Posted By: stopngo
I have been hearing that too strong Antifreeze mixture can potentially gel up or circulate slower along with reduced heat transfer

Do what now?

Not sure where you heard those gems, but they are absolutely Coo-coo for Cocoa Puffs... 10% more antifreeze mixture gels up or circulates slower?!

60% antifreeze is absolutely fine.

Thanks Y'all I see this an active forum by the quick responses.

Quote:
I'd be much more concerned with what exact antifreeze they actually put in.

Universal Green...........Old Cast Iron Block and Head. OK??

More antifreeze for lower freezing point, more water for better heat transfer. Overheating is only likely with heavy loads AND high ambient temps for prolonged periods. Will you be loading/ towing 100lb+ in/whith vehicle in 110 degree weather?

Originally Posted By: stopngo
Thanks Y'all I see this an active forum by the quick responses.

Quote:
I'd be much more concerned with what exact antifreeze they actually put in.

Universal Green...........Old Cast Iron Block and Head. OK??

If you're talking about conventional green, just remember that service life is 2 years/30,000 miles.

Originally Posted By: Dyusik