Manual transmission oil for 1995 Nissan Maxima?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all:

First post here. I am the original owner of a 1995 Nissan Maxima in excellent condition with only 65k miles. I figure it is time to change the MT oil as Nissan recommendations are at 60k as I recall. I believe it is a synchromesh transmission.

I am having a difficult time finding GL4 oil in 80-90 as specified by my factory service manual. I would prefer one of the major brand companies (I have no experience with Amsoil or Royal Purple for example). Pennzoil makes a synthetic 75-90 MT fluid but it is near impossible to find. Valvoline offers a "synchromesh" fluid. Finally Nissan offers a 75-85 MT fluid that they say will work but I'm concerned that it is only 85 and my understanding is that this reflects the upper temperature extremes (which is 86F compared to 104F according to the chart in my manual). Of all the choices, I think I would prefer the genuine Nissan oil, but is the 75-85 ok if the manual recommends 80-90? Other options?

Thanks

Most Nissan's require a dedicated GL-4 MTF of from 75W80 to 75W85 so here is a list of fluids that should work just fine:

This group of GL-4 MTL’s are in the 10.x cSt (SAE 75W80) range:

1. Redline MTL 75W80

2. Amsoil MTF (9.7 cSt)

3. GM Synchromesh’s

4. Volvo MTF 645

5. Fuchs TITAN SINTOFLUID SAE 75W-80 synthetic MTF (Carries a GL-5 rating as well)

6. Lodexol (Morris Lubricants) MTF

I. The next higher viscosity MTL would be a 12.0cSt@100C and SAE 75W85:

1. Redline MT-85 – 12.0 cSt

Last edited:
Welcome. You've quoted many good oils there but I would recommend Redline MT90 (75-90) which is a known GL4 gear oil. I have used it in my '93 Nissan nearly its entire life and it has performed perfectly. Whatever you decide on make sure it is GL4 only.

Someone here at the office has the same model and year but with 200K miles described as being used with great gusto.

He said he uses and recommends Red Line MT-90 75W90 GL-4 gear oil.