I'm getting tired of dealing with people

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in the auto repair industry. People are getting more and more rude but lately it's gotten real bad where pricing is concerned.

People agree to my price,sign the work order etc. I do the job. When the customer shows up to pick up the car they try to haggle the price down.

The time to talk price is before doing the work. Not after.

Say a guy signs the work order and knows the job will be $750. When he picks up the car he will try to give me $500. I'm not the boss and I can't ok that change and my boss wont either.

People then get irate and make a scene. Then after they figure out that I'm not lowering the price they post on yelp about how we ripped them off!

Maybe they have been watching too many Pawnstars shows?

Another favorite is a person that "steals" their repaired car from our parking lot. So now all cars sit in the back yard till paid for unless we really know the customer.

Do these same people try this stuff @ the McDonalds drive thru?

Yes, people try the same thing everywhere. I've seen restaurant managers comp a fair bit of food even when they are reasonably sure that the customer is spinning a yarn.

Auto work has higher costs, that's all. The person who just lied their way into a second sub or pizza will sure try it on the mechanic because it worked not that long ago.

What gets me is when I list something on craigslist and I get an email offer of half what I'm asking. It's not an ad in the paper that I paid for and committed to run it for a week; I can get in and edit it and lower the price if that's what I feel like doing.

AT LEAST show up in person if you're going to try that stuff.

And I don't want to tell you "the story" over the phone. You get three questions, max. Lots of dreamers (wankers?) with nothing better to do out there. I tell them I'm at work, even if I'm not, to get them to get to the point.