94 accord 4cyl F22b1 - water pump leak question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Quick question for someone else who has worked on a honda F22 VTEC 4cyl (specifically in a 94 accord EX with 236k) - if there's coolant leaking from the front-left wheelwell side of the engine (i see no obvious leaks on the radiator hose, but things are so packed in on the side with the serpentine belt i cant quite figure out the leak origin) that's probably the water pump right?

Are there any hoses leading to or from the water pump on this engine or is it fed internal to the block? (i'm not a mechanic, or a novice at best fumbling thru things too poor to pay someone) If i'm getting a chronic leak here, is this something prone to catastrophic failure/ie DO NOT DRIVE or is this something I can limp along a bit more until I can fix it properly?

I'm not entirely sure but it seemed to go through almost a quart of coolant in less than 100 miles. >_< I didn't measure it exactly but it wasnt long ago I topped it up/few days prior only. It only seems to leak while the system is pressurized/running, not much when sitting so far.

This is an engine that needs a timing belt anyways (and will get a water pump at that time) yet the car is rough enough yes i'm willing to gamble a little just because this is about the worst of all times to have to come up with another $500 to pay someone else to do the job. I'm wondering if I can drive broke/stoopid just topping off the antifreeze daily until I can get to the problem (literally getting to the job that will pay for this and other needs) or if some kind of catastrophic failure is likely. Alternately if I have to drive it to put it in storage the only convenient storage is 240 miles away for the winter. :-/ I am just not sure whether I will be up to fixing the timing belt and water pump this fall making me wonder how much risk i'd be taking...