Pliers Set Recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking into getting a decent set of pliers for DIY home use and tinkering with my own cars, motorcycles, and lawn equipment. Knipex seems to be the most recommended and almost has a cult like following, but I don't want to spend that much since I am not a professional using them everyday for 8-12 hours a day. Do you have any recommendations?

Channel Lock. Last time I was looking at tools in WalMart they still had the blue handle Channel Lock U.S.A made pliers.

Harbor Freight unless you throw parties in your garage. Then you'd better get Snap-on.

I have a $12 Harbor Freight angle grinder that I've owned for 10 years and used it hard on many occasions with never a problem.

I used to have Snap-on and other expensive tools when I worked professionally as a mechanic but now it's Harbor Freight and I've never been disappointed. You'll really appreciate the prices especially the tent sales. Their warranty is really good as well.

+1 on channellock for price/quality. When it comes to pliers even occasional use can destroy inexpensive ones quickly.
IMO buy Klein pliers they are arguably the best there is. USA made with induction hardened working surfaces and cutters and built like a tank. Knipex is good but not as good as the Klein IMO, I have both and the Klein is much heavier duty.
Buy them once and be done with it, you can leave them to your son. You can get good prices online, pick the model and google the best price.

https://www.kleintools.com/catalog/pliers

49.gif

Tekton at Meijer is usually pretty nice looking. Made in Taiwan if that means anything to you. Seems to be where the good stuff is coming from these days. The 72 tooth 3/8 ratchet I got is amazing

+1 Channelock and vise grips. The Kobalt stuff at HD and Stanley seems to be OK for screwdrivers and such for low cost.