Best CCW carry pistol ... ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm an NRA instructor and member of the Assoc. of Defensive Shooting Instructors and teach basic on up to advanced classes and have also taken courses at Valhalla Training Center, I.C.E, Thunder Ranch. I only recommend a pistol with out a manual safety. The Glock, M&P, XD and Rugers are the only guns I recommend for a defensive pistol. You can debate this but in real life safeties get you killed. I see it in classes all the time when people F*** up the safety and fail to get the shot because of it. If you cant perform(get that safety off)in a class setting under little stress compared to a real world defensive shooting, you never will in the real world and now you are dead.

The single stack nines are easy to carry and pack way more punch than a .380. Lots of good options out there.

Glock 43
Kahr PM9/CM9
Walther PPS
S&W Shield
XD-S
Ruger LC9
I'm sure there are others. Check out 3 or 4 different ones and buy the one that fits you the best.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Win
^^^^^^^^ The SCCY is a double stack; at least mine is ....

True enough - thanks. But it is still in the same size category as the others listed.

Pick the weapon you shoot the best and stick with it. Shot placement is paramount, remember it's the Indian not the arrow that makes the difference.
Good practice makes a good shooter.

Smoky

Originally Posted By: danthaman1980
The single stack nines are easy to carry and pack way more punch than a .380. Lots of good options out there.

Glock 43
Kahr PM9/CM9
Walther PPS
S&W Shield
XD-S
Ruger LC9
I'm sure there are others. Check out 3 or 4 different ones and buy the one that fits you the best.

I agree. 9mm ammo is always in abundance also and is dirt cheap. I used to carry a 380 and ammo was rare as hen's teeth,and when you could find it,it was always expensive.

Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
Really like the idea of a concealable 45ACP.