Is Michelin really that good

Status
Not open for further replies.
My answer- usually. My Primacy MXV4's were just average tires. Every other set has been fabulous, including the LTX M/S2's I have on my Pilot now.

Michelin bicycle tires are really expensive (in relative terms) too. I only tried them once and they were really difficult to install and remove from the rim. For the type of urban riding I do they are not the best choice anyway since I tend to get cuts in tires before they wear out.

Great tire but significantly overpriced. I have heard that they inspect everytire whereas other manufacturers use a random selection for quality control purposes. Again a great tire just not worth the price they ask for them

Uniroyal Laredo® Cross Country gets rave reviews at a smaller cost than LTX...100,000 mi. plus tire.

I have no appreciable experience with Michelin on my personal vehicles. The first set I have ever had came on my 2015 2500HD Chevy. Jury is still out on how well I will like them. Need to rack up a full winter on them to see. For gravel and off road, not impressed. For highway, pretty good. Once the serious snow drifts and ice become a major part of life this winter out here in the countryside, we'll see if the Michelin LTX's get removed for something else.

Now for my commercial truck needs, Michelins are the only thing I use. When I can get 447,000 miles out of Michelin drive tires and still have 8-9/32nds left and no uneven wear, yeah, I'll stick with them. And I have gotten roughly 223,000 miles on average out of Michelin steer tires. Same thing... 8-9/32 left and no uneven wear. When tires perform at that level, the cost gets spread out pretty good so that the higher initial cost is negated, and overall cost is significantly lower. Have no desire to switch brands in that application.

Originally Posted By: TiredTrucker