Meets or Exceeds DD 93K214

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: dustyroads
Originally Posted By: Dak27
Total newbie here, I use Mobil Delvac 1300 Super 15w40 in my Detroit Series 60 motor. Mobil's website, 1300's product label, and DD's online material all show it meets the DD Spec., but after looking at this info, I can't tell if 1300 Super isn't up to snuff or not.

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Dak

Dak, no worries..the delvac 15W40 has HTHSV of 4.3 which is well above the required minimum of 3.7 (to meet DD's spec). That's very important. I can't vouch for flashpoint or sulfur content, but the phos and zinc levels are up to par with required specs. You're good to go with 1300.

Thanks, Dusty, and Tired Trucker!

I had time to read this thread and the one attached to it, so now I understand it's topic a bit more.

I ran my last OCI to almost 12,000 miles/295 hours on the 1300 Super, and I didn't have to top off my level once, which really impressed me. I have 9500 miles/190 hours and counting on this run, and I my oil level is still right at the full line. It seems it agrees with my Series 60.

I have a fellow Owner Operator that runs Delo 400 in his 389 Peterbilt/ISX Cummins and pulls Super Tankers, who tells me I should switch over to Delo 400, as in his mind, it's the *Best* of the Big Three. I go back and forth on switching, but I'm hesitant to do so, as the same fellow told me when he switched from Delo to Rotella-T his oil consumption went way up; he told me "Pick a Brand, and Stick with it."

I countered by telling him that I've used pretty much *every* name brand (I look for Deals at Walmart, come OCI time)of 10W30/5W30 in my '97 Ford 460, and it's still running strong, no consumption, etc.

I've never been "Brand Loyal", I'm too cheap I guess.
laugh.gif
I've always figured as long as it's a Major Brand oil that meets/exceeds my engine's specs, it's more than good enough.

Take care, and be safe!

Regards, Dak