What Linux Distros do you use

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is just for fun so try not to turn it into a flame war.

For those who use Linux on a regular basis I am just running a little poll.

1. What distro do you use for your main computer?

2. What desktop environment do you prefer?

3. If you distro hop, what other distros have you installed in the past?

4. What was your gateway distro?

Here are my answers;

1. Manjaro 15.09 and Linux Mint 17.2

2. KDE Plasma 5 is quickly becoming my favorite (and I never liked KDE 4).

3. Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Lubuntu, Fedora, OpenSUSE, Elementary, Antergos, Peppermint OS, LMDE, KaOS, Bohdi, PCLinuxOS, Mandriva, and probably a few more that I can't remember.

4. Ubuntu 5.04 was the first I tried, Ubuntu 7.04 is the first I used on a regular basis.

Currently Mint 17.2 with Mate (dual boot with win10). I'm a former IT Tech (end user stuff) so have a few desktop machines and have used several distros over the years. Actually I have a couple machines I install quite a few of the distros when they are released. Seem to stay away from Ubuntu, but have used it in the past. Lubuntu mostly due to older hardware. Love playing with various Linux distros just for grins really.

Rick

I use ubuntu(no gui) mainly for servers(db2, websphere, node js/mongo db, LAMP) running in VirtualBox on top of Win7 Pro.

I am a full stack engineer (web application and related backends).

I am too chicken to replace the underyling OS Win7 with something else as this laptop is my paycheck as remote contractor. (Thinkpad W530 with 32GB ram, 128 GB SSD/1TB HDD, i7 processor)

Our company uses Google applications and they are clunky it seems in Chrome/Linux especially video conferencing(hangouts) trying to get video working right or microphone etc.

xubuntu, xfce exclusively.

I used to use Mint but it is too out of date for my likes. Xubuntu is more cutting edge as far as updates.