More bad news for the ethanol mandate.

Status
Not open for further replies.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national...x-1227441940278

Quote:
NSW has mandated ethanol must make up 6 per cent of the fuel that service stations sell. But motorists have proved hard to convince. Latest statistics show ethanol makes up just over 3 per cent of the market.

The ethanol mandate has been a boost for farmers, as it is derived from agricultural waste, and for ethanol producers who are protected from overseas competition by trade barriers and tax exemptions..
One of the issues is that, although ethanol is cheaper, thanks to tax concessions, much of the savings are eaten up by greater fuel consumption.

In 2012, premier Barry O’Farrell announced regular unleaded would continue to be sold, amid concerns that motorists would be forced to pay for more expensive premium petrol.

Gavin Hughes, the chief executive of the Biofuels Association of Australia, said the simplest way to get to the 6 per cent was to ban regular unleaded.

Figures from Caltex, which says it is committed to ethanol, show sales of E10 drop from about 50 per cent to 20 per cent when motorists have the choice.

The only NSW ethanol producer, the Manildra Group, is one of the largest political donors in Australia. Australian Electoral Commission records show it gave $452,000 in 2013-14, almost all to the Nationals and Liberal Party.

and re that last paragraph....

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-01-22/manildra-457/6033054

Originally Posted By: DBMaster
Originally Posted By: A_Harman
When a politician says that some big political goal can be achieved in 10 years, he's really saying EFF YOU.

Like this one?

Not arguing, just having some fun. What a difference 50 years makes.