2016 Kia Turbo 20W50

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Java,

There was a recent thread titled "Sudden Oil Consumption Causes?"
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/3833457/1

It's worth a read, consider the following comment:

Originally Posted By: Joe90_guy

I'm relatively new to BITOG but I've already made the point on several posts that I am concerned about the high volatility of American engine oils. I don't profess to fully understand things but I have a strong suspicion that under the influence of blow-by, fuel dilution (followed by fuel evaporation), water condensation (followed by evaporation), the most volatile part of the engine oil is entering into the vapour phase, whizzing straight through the PCV valve, into the intake system and then burnt. If I have this right, the process will be transient, circular and self-exacerbating.
My answer, for what it's worth, is to move to a much less volatile oil such as a 20W50 or a 15W40.

Maybe Kia agree and want people to use a less volatile oil in a Turbo GDI car.

Originally Posted By: aquariuscsm
How about a high end 20W50 like Redline or RP HPS/XPR?

Yep, I'm with Aquariuscsm, I would prefer a high end 20W50 over the old GTX 20W50 SJ mineral oil I once used.

Also, easy and cheap, and of good quality, a HDEO 15W40 like Shell Rotella T.

I'd be wondering about Red Line in a new vehicle under warranty, and the same goes for RP's non-API stuff. I won't even begin to go on about my musings about 20w-50 in a brand new vehicle.

I must have 'arrived' on BITOG if people are already quoting me!

Several comments...