? on Oil Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in a lab with all kinds of different testing supplies. But we are in a different field that automotive and the test methods are are very different. Does anyone no how to run a TBN test and what is needed to run it. So far I have been able to come up with a small sample of oil, dont no the exact amount for the test but it was somewhere around 3 to 10 grams, dilute with 50 mls of 50:50 H2O/Isoprpyl Alcohol and titrate down with KOH. Dont no the strengh of the KOH or what PH to titrate to and what the numbers would be without a chart. Does anyone have acess to the test methods and would like to share them I could run samples a plenty.

I have been speculating about doing my own testing. I think you would need to use a strong acid, perhaps HCl tenth normal. I know acid numbers are defined as grams of KOH. Since it would be a weak base and strong acid, I would look for an indicator slightly below pH7. When I worked at Rinshed Mason in the 60's, my exacting boss had us using meta cresol purple for acid numbers.

Try using some tenth normal HCl and titrate a new sample of an oil you know the TBN. Calculate back to grams of KOH per KG sample.

We have some .1 normality HCL, So I I was to use say 10 grams of New Oil and dilute with 50 mls of 50:50 H2O/ Isopropopyl alcohol, I would then titrate down with .1 HCL. At what PH would you titrae to. I can find the test numbers but to get the actual test it is about 30$ to get the info, and i was sure someone here new how to run the test.

I recently looked up performing TBN tests as well. I wasn't able to find anything but found that for $40 I could directly get the ASTM method. OUCH! I was curious ... but not that curious.

almost 2 years later and was still thinking someone out there has to no how to run a TBN test on oil.
?

Originally Posted By: Gator
almost 2 years later and was still thinking someone out there has to no how to run a TBN test on oil.
?