Honda 2.4L Valve Adjustment - need help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Need some help. I did a valve adjust on the gf’s 2007 Accord EX last night. Mileage is 102k.

Prior to the adjustment, this engine was very very quiet. But it seemed a bit lacking in power compared to the other 2.4s I’ve driven. Vibration at idle was fine, maybe a bit on the higher side.

This is my first time adjusting valves.

When I did the inspection, all of the intake valves took the 0.008 gauge with a light amount of drag. I also tried the 0.009 gauge – more drag obviously. Based on what I could tell, the intake valves were probably in-spec but a little on the loose side. I’m not too sure of my capabilities so I decided to leave them alone. The spec for the intake valves is 0.008 to 0.010”.

On the other hand, the exhaust valves were all too tight. I loosened the screw about 30 deg on average, maybe 45 deg on one or two. The 0.012 gauge slides in/out with a light amount of drag. 0.013 will still fit in, but with a moderate amount of drag but would sort of “get caught” and the feel gauge would just get stuck. The spec for the exhaust valves is 0.011 to 0.013”.

I put it all back together, and here’s what I’m noticing:

- engine is noticeably more responsive

- but engine is much noisier.

- vibration at idle seems a bit less in gear, but more in Park/Neutral.

Not sure if I did it right. What do you guys think?

Thanks.

Last edited:
You could have done a before-and-after compression test to see if you changed anything.

My 300D was way out, especially on the exhaust side, which they say is more subject to variation.

I'd take the car for a nice italian tuneup.
wink.gif

did you do the valve adjustment when engine cold? or warm?

Honda has been specifying engine valve adjustments to be performed when cold for quite some time now, and cold means summer (moderate) cold, engine room temp.

Q.

Originally Posted By: Quest