Do you want my old filter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know some of you love to cut open old filters.
I will soon be changing my oil and filter.
It's a Fram Ultra and will have about 14K on it.
If it's not against post office rules I will send it to someone to cut open.
I will pay shipping but you have to post pictures.
Any takers?

It's not against post office regulations, so when they ask if there's anything hazardous, liquid, etc., just say "no". Trying to explain an oil sample or residual oil just causes confusion.

Just a suggestion if someone takes you up on your offer. Take some toothpicks, qtips or nails and open a couple/few of the inlet holes/adbv with them and let it drain before shipping. Will get rid of most of the oil left in the can and reduce shipping weight.

Puncturing a hole in dome will help with that too but not essential.

I'm a Hazmat technician so please bag it well because if it leaks the post office will have to report it as a suspicious package and call the fire dept. It's not fun.

Be sure to ship it in a box marked "This end up" & ship it base end up (in addition to double bagging it & draining the oil out of it first, the couple of toothpicks or even small screwdrivers poked through the ADBV overnight [base down]will do it).

Originally Posted By: Hokiefyd
I'll do it. PM me and I'll send you my address.

You were first I sent a PM.

Originally Posted By: tratman2000
I'm a Hazmat technician so please bag it well because if it leaks the post office will have to report it as a suspicious package and call the fire dept. It's not fun.