a bit confused about straight 30 weights

Status
Not open for further replies.
Let me start off by saying what a wonderful place this site is!!!!!!! OK, first off I work as a mechanic for a living and been through our distributor schools, which includes classes about oils. Well between the classes and this website, I have gotten to be quite familiar with many oils...but have found very little technical information on SAE 30 oils. My main use for the stuff would be for my growing small engine collection, both the ones I have and the ones I take care of for family. It seems all the heavy service 30 weight oils I want to try no longer carry the API gas rating, such as Rotella 30. I use the super tech for cleaning out engines that have sat up a while, then once it gets some hours on it, I change to what ever I used in my truck at the time. Is there an SAE 30 you guys buy in bulk by the gallon to service small engines at home? Should I just give up on the straight 30 weight and use something more readily available in my area? About the only ones I see locally are the super tech and the castrol, which are sold by the quart. I live near the gulf coast, so summer temps reach near 100 quite regularly. I tried running 10w-30, but the oil consumption was a bit high in the mid day heat. Is the use of SAE 30 oils for small engines just old technology, or are they superior and have advantages other oils don't? Looking forward to learn what you guys can teach me!!!!