Getting ready for an oil change in the twin cam

Status
Not open for further replies.
fbb80m.jpg

Nothing but the best!

lol The fusion gets 0/5w20 and is running like a champ with 92,xxx miles.

Last edited:
Racing oil is made for racing. Short interval. Like 1 race. It lacks proper detergent levels.
I suggest an oil made for an actual interval longer than a race.

Originally Posted By: Clevy
Racing oil is made for racing. Short interval. Like 1 race. It lacks proper detergent levels.

If you look at the UOA's on here of VR1, you will see it has a good detergent package. Only the NSR "Not Street Legal" line of Valvoline racing oil is not suitable for street vehicles.

I run the same oil in my 103 Roadglide. Bought a couple cases when pep boys ran their 35% off sale awhile back. I have been running it for several years in different Harleys and it really quiets down the valvetrain noise. Also really like that cool blue in the synthetic version.

I noticed the synthetic bottle doesn't mention friction modifiers like the conventional does. I hope they're in there lol. The syn does have a lot more moly. I wonder what else is different and what are the base oils.

Originally Posted By: fonecord2
fbb80m.jpg

Nothing but the best!

Sir,

may I congratulate you for your impeccable taste in motorcycles?
grin.gif

Please, let us know how VR1 treats you and your bike.

Robenstein, too much zinc!! Also seems thick for start-up. I would use for a break-in oil

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Finn
fbb80m.jpg

Nothing but the best!

Sir,

may I congratulate you for your impeccable taste in motorcycles?
grin.gif

Please, let us know how VR1 treats you and your bike.

Thank you Finn, I've been using it for two years. I've been using a mix of conventional and synthetic.

It treats the bike well by reducing friction and treats me well for the money saved can be spent on other goodies.

Originally Posted By: bruckus