Added 2 stroke oil to 4 stroke boat motor - oops!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I accidentally added 2 quarts of 2-stroke oil directly into our 4-stroke 100HP Mercury motor. It was not mixed with the gas – it went directly into the motor. The good news (I think) is that there was already a fair amount of 4-stroke oil in the crankshaft – it was about half full already. Do I need to drain it all and replace with 4-stroke only, or can I just let it run its course and gradually add more 4-stroke to decrease the ratio? (I’m a newbie to boat maintenance, if you can’t tell... taking over for my husband - so go easy on my lack of knowledge!)

I would definitely drain it out and replace with the correct oil. 2 cycle oil has a completely different composition than regular motor oil.

Originally Posted By: anonobomber
I would definitely drain it out and replace with the correct oil. 2 cycle oil has a completely different composition than regular motor oil.

+1 Drain and replace with the proper 4 stroke oil.
It would be an interesting experiment to run, 2 stoke oil in a 4 stroke motor, but not with your expensive boat motor...

Absolutely drain the crankcase and refill with the proper oil before running the engine. I would consult Mercury for the recommended oil if you do not have the owner's manual available.

Originally Posted By: anonobomber

thumbsup2.gif

Yes, replace ASAP.

Last edited:
I hate to recommend throwing good oil away, but I'd personally be wary of running the engine with this mix of oils.
That MolaKule is recommending that it be replaced ASAP would convince me to get it out of there.

Thank you, everyone. Unfortunately, we did run the motor for about a half hour. Hopefully I haven't caused damage.

Is the filter OK (is there a filter? I assume so) or do I need to replace that too?

Thanks, JRMason. It was changed last fall, I wouldn't plan to do it yet. I was really wondering if it needed to be changed *based on* the 2 cycle oil intrusion...