Honda 21" commercial mower

Status
Not open for further replies.
My son bought what appeared to be a good used 21" commercial Honda, HRC216. Got it home and noticed it was really low on oil so changed it, started it up, ran and mowed fine but leaks oil like crazy. Hard to be 100% certain but appears that it's coming from the top of the engine and I assume there's a top seal that may be bad but not sure there is and secondly, I have no idea how to change it if there is. I'm pretty mechanically inclined but hate to even tear into it without at least some basic knowledge. Anyone have any pointer, either in writing, diagrams of videos? So far can't find what I'm looking for so any help is greatly appreciated!

I assume a splash lubricated engine, or pressure lubricated. vertical shaft?

I would hazard a guess that there is blow-by from the rings causing pressure in the crankcase which is pushing oil out.

I am not an expert on honda, but my educated guess is the top crankshaft seal is leaking for any of several reasons. You will have to remove the flywheel to see and probably replace it.

Time to start looking. There's probably a reason someone sold a commercial Honda mower.

Mine's over 10 years old and runs like brand new. It starts first pull every time and does not appear to burn or leak oil at all.

The double blade system is great for mulching.

If you get it fixed it should last a lifetime.

It's a GX-series vertical shaft engine, splash lubricated. AADAD, you said that it leaks oil like crazy, and it appears to be coming from the top. Can I presume, then, that the entire outside of the engine is covered with oil from the top down, like the engine is pushing the oil out?