Keep carb full or dry while storing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have some small engines on generator and other OPE that I only use occasionally.
On my generator with a fuel cutoff switch, I run the carb out of fuel and then store it. With the others, they have fuel in them while sitting in the garage.
Question is does it matter to the carb if it has fuel in it while being stored? Does running it empty help prevent gumming?

Long term storage on my 4stroke dry and 2stroke wet. Almost everything run on VPracing OPE fuel.

I store mine dry, but I also can see storing wet with stabil. I don't think it's wrong either way, but I've found small engines don't seem to run that well on that first tank of stabil-ised gas.

Drain the carb.

Even fuel stabilizers can deteriorate over time.

If there's nothing in the carb, gumming will not happen.

I've been doing it for many years with a perfect record of no carb issues when pulling the machine out of storage.

On machines that don't have a fuel shut off valve or are a pain to drain the fuel tanks (ATVs come to mind), I'll add a fuel stabilizer. As much as I don't like snake oils, I will capitulate when necessary.

You want a fuel stabilizer that mixes with the gas. Some only create a barrier on top of the gas to prevent oxygen from depleting the addditives. This is fine for gas cans but doesn't work very well in a carb.

With a good stabilizer Either way is fine. Personally I just add seafoam to all my OPE gas cans so I never have to worry about it. It is already mixed and in the machines so I can put them away at any time. I just recently ran my chainsaw after 6-7 years of sitting with gas in it. It fired right up and ran like it does with fresh gas.